ESA names Hayslip as new chairman

The Electricity Storage Association (ESA) named current vice chair Darrell Hayslip, president of Narrow Gate Energy, its next chair at its 23rd Annual Conference last week. Hayslip succeeds Chris Shelton, who has led the Association for the past two years and will remain a key voice as the president of member company AES Energy Storage, says the ESA. The Association also handed out two awards at the conference.

The annual Phil Symons Electricity Storage Award recipient was Janice Lin, executive director of the California Energy Storage Alliance; and the Electricity Storage Association Industry Excellence Award for 2013 was for the S&C Electric Company.

Solar and energy storage bodies unite

The Solar Energy Industries Association (SEIA) and the Electricity Storage Association (ESAthis week announced a new partnership to help grow solar energy markets and accelerate the deployment of grid-scale energy storage systems across the USA. Under the new partnership, SEIA and ESA will collaborate on communication efforts, events and policy activities promoting solar energy and energy storage.

The expansion of each organisation’s activities to include both sets of technologies furthers the missions of both organisations and directly assists their common members, say the bodies. The ESA celebrated the announcement at its annual conference in Santa Clara, California.